DIY Addict Faces Biggest Challenge Yet- Relaxation

It’s a common comment from my husband every weekend in the Spring. “Just relax, do nothing”. I look at him, smile and go onto my next DIY project telling him I am relaxing as I’m digging a trench to lay down pavers. After 19 years together, he has learned that no matter how crazy he thinks I am in the Spring, he just lets me tackle my next outdoor project so I can check it off my beloved To-Do List.

Maybe it’s my way to get out all that extra energy pent up in me after a long, cold winter, but the urgency of getting outside pushes me into overdrive to complete projects. This is how I use my “me” time. Now, don’t get me wrong, I get massages, manicures, have my wine by the fire pit area (which I created of course), but being in the dirt is a rush for this chica.

I’m a major Type A personality- always on the go and I love lists. The satisfaction I get when I can check off something is indescribable for this list geek. If you are one of my Facebook friends reading this you’ll see my weekend warrior projects around my property posted all the time 🙂
paths

I’m always “doing” something. I love the rush completing something gives me. I am not a wife who tells her husband, I want something make it for me. I do it myself. If I break a nail or two along the way life goes on. When I met DIY Networks Matt Blashaw I was pumped. The guru of backyard transformations in my book 🙂
Matt Blashaw

I genuinely love to be active. Either putting in new paths up the hill in my backyard to writing two books at the same time (yes, two books for two different publishers). I find being busy relaxing. But part of this weekend I did something out of my comfort zone, something that is never on my To-Do List- nothing during the day. I made my husband proud but to be honest it was weird. For years I have associated project completion with relaxation. Could I break this correlation?

What helped me slow down was a nasty cold (thank you allergies). I sat on my back deck, listened to the birds and read a book. I looked at the projects I wanted to do and didn’t do them. They were calling my name but I didn’t respond. Instead I traded in my shovels for a cup of espresso and relished in the zen rocking on my glider gave me.

Trust me there is a list of Spring project’s that I’m dying to do (a potted flower tower that I’m creating, painting a bird bath, a small fountain to construct as well paint an old patio set to match the new one we got).

I think my Type A personality got kicked into high gear after having three kids. As a busy mom whose children play travel hockey, baseball and a competitive equestrian, I am always going. My busband and I “divide and conquer” the sports schedules. The week is a blur of activities with home cooked meals (I’m not a big fast food person) and a dash of breaking news in the night hours to book guests for my show “Squawk Box”.

I’m a firm believer in having it all. You just have to work a little harder in order to achieve it. Everyone defines success a little different. For me, it’s about balancing work and family. Yes it’s hard, but who said life wasn’t? It is very hard, do I succeed all the time? Hello no, but I try. Life is about inspiration. Life is a journey where you never stop learning about yourself and where you pay back in some way. For me, I try to pay back by sharing my experiences with others.

I am inspired by people in how they approach situations, the strategies they employ in order to achieve their goals and I realized after being a mom, I use those same billionaire strategies albeit on a much small scale in my every day life.

One of the most frequent questions I am asked when I do speaking engagements as well as from students from my Alma Mater, S.U.N.Y. Plattsburgh (where I’m on the Alumni Board) is about leadership strategies, time management and what have I learned from the likes of Shipping Magnate Roberto Giorgi to real estate titan Richard LeFrak. I always talk about creating your life list on what you want to achieve, seizing the moment, knowing your strengths and weaknesses, never give up, etc. But this weekend I used a trait that many of my contacts use and in my fast pace life haven’t always utilized as much as I should and that’s- just be.

So this weekend I have added a new number one To-Do on my list: Relax. I can check it off as completed and you know what? It wasn’t that bad. It was definitely hard work for this go-getter. But I think with a little more practice, I’ll get more comfortable with letting the dust settle.

Although confession time- I just had to do a little planting. My planter tower. Hey, I was feeling better 🙂

My triple planter tower

Baby steps people, baby steps 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “DIY Addict Faces Biggest Challenge Yet- Relaxation

  1. Enjoyed this post Lori, having gotten to know you this past year. I’ve heard therapeutic value can be found in outdoor work, even if I don’t understand it. 🙂

    Like

    • hubby doesn’t get it either. I’m telling you the rush is just great 🙂 Love the whole process in an outdoor production. My trainer laughed at me when he saw me sawing off a 6 foot limb which died on my Japanese Maple. 🙂

      Like

  2. Sounds quite familiar… Greetings from another type A 😉

    Like

  3. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this weblog and I’m impressed! Extremely useful information particularly the remaining section 🙂 I maintain such information a lot. I was seeking this certain info for a very long time. Thanks and best of luck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

