The “D” for this DIY’r Stands for Denial

A few days ago I was sitting in my old orthropedist’s office. It’s been year’s thankfully since I”ve been there, but my luck ran out. For about a month and a half my right elbow has been hurting. At first I brushed it off. I have Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis which makes my joints achy so I thought it was that, but I knew deep down it wasn’t.

My nifty, wheelbarrow which has a narrow wheel base tipped to the side when I was pulling one of my fifteen bags of stone and my arm twisted.
image

I thought to myself “owe” but I righted it back up and moved on. I mean I use sledge hammers and pick up and toss heavy bags in my workout with my trainer- I’ve tackled harder things. Little did I know the DIY denial had crept in.

I showed the doc where my arm hurt and the radiating pain down to my wrist and he said, “You have tennis elbow”. I looked at him puzzled, “But I don’t play tennis”. Chuckling, he said, “You don’t have to play tennis to get it, what have you been doing?” I told him gardening and he wanted to know what “gardening” exactly meant. So I told him.

It’s been a busy and satisfying Spring/Summer for me. Between adding in a “path to no where” as my husband has dubbed it, expanding the “mommy island” fire pit area to clearing out brush and adding a new seating area where I laid down two 100 pound cement slabs as part of a path, this mama has been on fire. He looked at me and said, “Yep- you over did it.
imageimageimage

When he examined the area and felt the inflamation he paused and said, “Did you work on anything this weekend perhaps?” I then admitted I transferred some plants on the property so they could get more sun.

image

He smiled and read my mind, “You did it ahead of this appointment in case I told you no more gardening right?” “Right.” I said.

So now for the next five weeks I have to wear this lovely elbow brace.
image
Good news he said I can still do things, but lifting bags of mulch, etc I can’t do. I will need to get some help. For this “Type A” chica who likes to do things herself that will be the hardest thing to do.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

