Blog Tour

Thanks to the evolution of social media, the community in which we communicate in literally stretches around the globe. I was offered an amazing opportunity from my dear friend Laura DeAngelis who I have known since I had my second television internship 22 years ago. Laura is a well-known fitness blogger and she invited me to participate in a Blog Tour. I figured, why not?

1. What am I working on?

In addition to promoting my book “Opportunity Knocking” through my writings and speaking engagements I am one of the producers of CNBC’s flagship show Squawk Box. After months of preparation we are launching this morning our new Squawk Platinum Portfolio Club where we have hand selected 12 of the top stock pickers in the country to give us their three stock picks. We will have them on one a quarter and we will track the stocks performance. All of their picks will create the Squawk Platinum Portfolio. I came up with the idea over a year ago and I am so excited to see the project come to life!

2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I am a people person and after my 10 years working all over the country in local news and 14 years at CNBC I have been able to get into the minds of many people. It doesn’t matter if you work at the corner deli or a billionaire– we are all people. We have bad hair days, get runs in our stockings and put our pants on one leg at a time. I treat my contacts the way I want to be treated. Over the course of my career the approaches I have heard other journalist used to getting a story is more of an “us vs. them” approach. That doesn’t mean I’m a wimp. I’m just not an arrogant ass. For me that doesn’t work. I do not like to be an adversary. Why do my contacts call me at all hours of the night when they are making billion dollar deals? Because not only do they trust me we have a mutual respect for each other. I do not put them on a pedestal, I merely treat them like a regular person. I show manners like walking them to the door when they leave the building(I recently had someone ask me in surprise that I actually did this. It’s what all good leaders do. Do you wave goodbye from your couch when friends are leaving or do you walk them to the door?) My reputation as a trusted journalist has helped me become known the “producer with the trillion dollar rolodex”.

3. Why do I write what I do?

Since I am lucky to have gained nuggets of wisdoms from some of the most successful people in the world I want to inspire and share that knowledge. My goal each and every day is to pass along positive actionable advice on success. You are no different than self-made billionaire Wilbur Ross (who by the way went out on his own at the age of 64 and made his way onto the Forbes Billionaire List at the age of 66). Yes his bank account is way larger than yours and mine but the strategies he employs in making his decisions in leading and investing are no different than what you most likely do. A fat bank account doesn’t mean you are a leader. It’s your values and how you act that make you stand out. What separate the leaders and mediocre apart is their self-awareness and the polishing of their strengths and minimizing their weaknesses. We can all do it, we just have to want to.

4. How does my writing process work?
My approach to writing is very organic. I am inspired by what is around me. I guess that is why I have never had writer’s block. Inspiration is all around you, you have to have your eyes and heart open for it. It also comes sometimes from unlikely sources. Just wait till you read my post tomorrow. You have to tap into your inner eight year old!! 🙂 In order to be truly successful you have to be happy. Success doesn’t mean being rich monetarily. You have to be rich in context of loving what you do and being the best you can be. Not everyone wants to be the end all be all in business but you do want to be happy and good at what you do. That’s what life is all about. I hope my writings help you focus on the essence of you so you can achieve all your dreams and what I like to call, “World Domination” 🙂

Who’s On Deck…

Matt Barbis, founder of The Rose Brucia Educational Foundation. I may be on the non-profits board but their blogs I believe are essential for anyone who wants to protect children. Their writings provide up with the latest in stranger safety news. They’re advice on teaching the lessons in protecting our children are online for 24 hour access. This is a blog that is a must read in my book 🙂

.
Everyone into the kitchen
Looking for a little spice and sass to your cooking? Melissa Marks-Shih shares her culinary expertise with a side of recipes along with “child” stories to not only satisfy your taste buds but also your funny bone 🙂

For more inspiration, leadership strategies and lessons? Please order
a hard copy or Kindle version of my book Opportunity Knocking Lessons from Business Leaders.

Leave a comment

Filed under Building Your Knowledge, Foundation, Foundation: Getting to Know You, Leadership, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

