Leadership Lessons Via Disney Songs (Yep you read that right!)

photo

My daughter got a hold of my phone and went to town taking picks. Look at that bliss. As we get older we do tend to harden up. Heck even the songs we hear on the radio mostly talk about breakups, longing, lost loves etc. I’m an ecletic music lover, ranging from Queensryche to Blake Shelton. If I like the tune it doesn’t matter what genre.

My love of music has taken me to seedy dives to BBQ hoe downs where I’ve line danced. I am a big believer in music. It expresses how you feel at that moment. Music to me is an extension of who you are. I even have a theme song just like Ally McBeal and of “The Biscuit” awesome song . Seriously how can you not smile?

So what does my 8 year old listen and sing to? What makes her happy? Disney channel songs (in addition to of course Katy Perry and Taylor Swift), but the common themes of the songs she belts out on a daily basis when you listen to the lyrics you realize they are all about leadership. I’m going to select three in particular and will write down the lyrics. The uplifting lessons are there and you know what? When we play them in the car I really don’t mind them. You can’t help but be happy. The messages are sweet and simple, leading by being positive and supportive. Aren’t those qualities you want to have as well as your colleagues and boss? Cream rise to the top and being positive and supportive are two ingredients that foster and nurture such culture.

Here’s to tapping into your inner eight year old and as you continue on your path to achieving your world domination 🙂

lesson: creating a positive culture:

You Can Come to Me
from Austin and Ally

When you’re on your own, drowning alone
And you need a rope that can pull you in
Someone will throw it

And when you’re afraid that you’re going to break
And you need a way to feel strong again
Someone will know it

And even when it hurts the most, try to have a little hope
Cause someone’s gonna be there when you don’t
When you don’t

If you wanna cry, I’ll be your shoulder
If you wanna laugh, I’ll be your smile
If you wanna fly, I will be your sky
Anything you’d need that ‘s what I’ll be
If you wanna climb, I’ll be your ladder
If you wanna run, I’ll be your road
If you wanna friend, doesn’t matter when
Anything you’d need that’s what I’ll be

You can come to me
You can come to me
Yeah

Lesson: taking chances, don’t give up until you reach your dream

Cloud 9

from the movie “Cloud 9”

[Luke:]
Waking up, ready for some action
Strapping in, ready for the ride
Going big now that I can take it,
All the way to cloud 9

[Dove:]
Dropping in, wanna feel the rush now
Sun is out, the wind is in my hair
Nothing else could be quite as awesome,
As when I’m soaring through the air

[Both:]
So here we go, And we ain’t gonna take it slow
We’re ready now to touch the sky,
This must be how it feels to fly,
I’m on cloud 9! I’m on cloud 9!
This must be how it feels to fly,
I’m on cloud 9! Oh oh

[Luke:]
Don’t give up, keep on taking chances
Put in time, till you get it right
Winding up, swinging for the fences
Won’t go down without a fight

[Dove:]
Going hard, push it to the limit
To the edge, go to the extreme
There’s no doubt that I’m gonna win it
Never giving up the dream

[Both:]
So here we go, and we ain’t gonna take it slow
We’re ready now to touch the sky,
This must be how it feels to fly,
I’m on cloud 9! I’m on cloud 9!
This must be how it feels to fly,
I’m on cloud 9! I’m on cloud 9! I’m on cloud 9!
This must be how it feels to fly,
I’m on cloud 9! Oh oh

So here we go, and we ain’t gonna take it slow
We’re ready now to touch the sky,
This must be how it feels to fly,
I’m on cloud 9! I’m on cloud 9!
This must be how it feels to fly,
I’m on cloud 9! I’m on cloud 9! I’m on cloud 9!
This must be how it feels to fly,
I’m on cloud 9! Oh oh

Building Your Opportunity Pyramid, Lessons Learned

It’s the climb

From Hannah Montana Movie

I can almost see it.
That dream I’m dreaming, but
There’s a voice inside my head saying
You’ll never reach it
Every step I’m takin’
Every move I make
Feels lost with no direction,
My faith is shakin’
But I, I gotta keep tryin’
Gotta keep my head held high

There’s always gonna be another mountain
I’m always gonna wanna make it move
Always gonna be an uphill battle
Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose
Ain’t about how fast I get there
Ain’t about what’s waitin’ on the other side

It’s the climb

The struggles I’m facing
The chances I’m taking
Sometimes might knock me down, but
No I’m not breaking
I may not know it, but
These are the moments that
I’m gonna remember most, yeah
Just gotta keep goin’,
And I, I gotta be strong
Just keep pushing on, ’cause

There’s always gonna be another mountain
I’m always gonna wanna make it move
Always gonna be an uphill battle
Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose
Ain’t about how fast I get there
Ain’t about what’s waitin’ on the other side
It’s the climb

Yeah

There’s always gonna be another mountain
I’m always gonna wanna make it move
Always gonna be an uphill battle
Somebody’s gonna have to lose
Ain’t about how fast I get there
Ain’t about what’s waitin’ on the other side
It’s the climb

Yeah, yeah yeah

Keep on movin’
Keep climbin’
Keep the faith baby
It’s all about, it’s all about the climb
Keep the faith, keep your faith, whoa, whoa, oh.

For more inspiration, leadership strategies and lessons? Please order
a hard copy or Kindle version of my book Opportunity Knocking Lessons from Business Leaders.

Leave a comment

Filed under Building Your Knowledge, Business, Define Your Opportunity, Execute-Pay Attention to Details, Foundation, Foundation: Getting to Know You, Leadership, Passion, Stay the Course, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

